How to change the "Connect" button to the "Follow" button on LinkedIn – PUNCHmedia Skip to content

How to change the “Connect” button to the “Follow” button on LinkedIn

I don’t connect with everyone and anyone on LinkedIn.

As a long-time marketer, I know “EVERYONE” is not a strategy.

I do accept new connections into my network regularly, but I also make sure we can provide an exchange of value.

To limit the number of connection requests I receive, I’ve changed my “Connect” button to a “Follow” button. This way, people can follow my updates and we don’t have to be mutually connected. (i.e. They can see my posts, but I won’t see their status updates nor will have access to each others networks).

Here’s how to change the Connect button to the Follow button on LinkedIn:

  1. Click the “Me” icon at the top of your LinkedIn navigation bar.
  2. Click “Settings & Privacy”.
  3. Under the “Blocking and hiding” section, click “Change” next to Followers.
  4. Choose “Everyone on LinkedIn”. 
  5. Under the “Make follow primary” section, switch the toggle to your preferred “Yes”.

About Leslie Hughes

Leslie Hughes is a LinkedIn Optimization Specialist, Professor of Social Media, Corporate Trainer, Principal of PUNCH!media and author of “CREATE. CONNECT. CONVERT” Leslie was called a "Social Media Guru" by CBC Radio and was featured on CTV’s “The Social” discussing how to manage your digital identity. Leslie has been working in digital marketing since 1997 and founded PUNCH!media in 2009. PUNCH!media clients include Investment Planning Counsel, Guardian Life Insurance Company of America and TVO. PUNCH!media's goal is to empower through education and help executives gain confidence in their online presence so you convert higher-paying clients. www.punchmedia.ca

Leave a Comment